Home » Curriculum


At Welton St. Mary’s we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum (EYFS) for our Foundation Stage pupils and The National Curriculum for English (speaking and listening, phonics,spelling and punctuation and grammar, reading and writing) and maths for Key Stages one and two. Please click on the links below for more information on the EYFS and The National Curriculum


The National Curriculum

We incorporate these skills  into our own bespoke curriculum for the non-core subjects and science.

Our curriculum has been designed to ensure all  learning is exciting, active and meaningful for children and that teachers enjoy teaching the curriculum. Our thematic approach allows children to connect their learning to where they are living now as well as looking at the learning from the perspective of other people in other countries.

For more information about the curriculum objectives covered in for each year group, please click on the links below. To ensure a broad and balanced curriculum, terms 1 and 2 have a geography focus, terms 3 and 4 a history focus and terms 5 and 6 focus on the arts. We aim that the subjects come to life through first hand experiences, research and are supported by extra curricular visits.



Assessments are made against the following criteria in reading, writing and maths

Key Stage 1 Assessment Criteria

Year 3 Reading, Writing, Maths assessment grids

Year 4 Reading, Writing, Maths assessment grids

Year 5 Reading, Writing, Maths assessment grids

Year 6 Reading, Writing, Maths assessment grids